The mandate of Project Ploughshares comes from The Canadian Council of Churches, which delegates the responsibility of formation and governance of the Governing Committee to its member churches and associated churches that have agreed to sponsor Project Ploughshares. The Canadian Council of Churches is the legal entity under which Project Ploughshares operates and, as such, the Governing Committee of Project Ploughshares is accountable to The Canadian Council of Churches for governing Project Ploughshares in the pursuit of the mandate received from the council. The Governing Committee of Project Ploughshares is made up of persons appointed by the sponsoring churches and members-at-large appointed by the Governing Committee.

Governing Committee

Paul Berg-Dick Treasurer, Member-at-large
Paula Butler The United Church of Canada
Jim Christie Chair, Member-at-large
Bob Clarke Religious Society of Friends/Canadian Yearly Meeting
Samir Gassanov Christian Reformed Church in North America-Canadian
Debbie Grisdale The Anglican Church of Canada
Karen Hamilton, The Canadian Council of Churches
Kathryn Hare The Presbyterian Church in Canada
Scott Kline Member-at-large
Reina Neufeldt Member-at-Large
Peter Noteboom, The Canadian Council of Churches
Colin Read Canadian Unitarian Council
Jennifer Wiebe Mennonite Central Committee Canada
vacant: Canadian Catholic Organization for Development and Peace
vacant: Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada

Financial Support

Project Ploughshares relies on the annual financial support of thousands of individuals, national churches, religious orders, local congregations and organizations across Canada.