Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

The Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty represents the only binding commitment in a multilateral treaty to the goal of disarmament.

Under the treaty, of which 189 states are party:

  1. non-nuclear weapon states are obliged not to seek nuclear weapons
  2. nuclear weapon states have an “unequivocal undertaking” to disarm
  3. access to nuclear energy for peaceful uses is permitted to non-nuclear weapon states

Serious challenges facing the NPT:

  • North Korea’s intention to withdraw from the NPT
  • India, Israel and Pakistan’s refusal to sign and ratify the treaty
  • ad hoc arrangements outside the treaty that undermine the multilateral process